Happy birthday to me!

So…today was my 45th birthday.

Honestly, I was prepared for it to suck. Not the “oh damn it…I’m another year older” kind of suck…but the Hoover-Dyson-Electrolux all rolled into one kind of suck.

I knew that for the first time in my life I wasn’t going to get a call from my mom to wish me happy birthday.  I’ve been dreading feeling that cavernous hole that was left in my heart when she died.

Yeah, that hole was definitely there, but something miraculous happened! I was overwhelmed with love and gratitude for all of the kind words and we’ll wishes I received today. My co-worker decorated my office with the most spectacular window display. Friends came by and wished me well and dropped off cards. I got phone calls from colleagues who wished me happy birthday before conducting their business they called for.

I got to go to a rowdy lunch with singing and dancing and all kinds of crazy stuff that could fit into an hour and then, so many of you filled my Facebook wall with birthday greetings that cheered me up so much.

This post isn’t about being boastful that i got attention on my birthday. This post is about gratitude. I am grateful that I have people in my life…regardless if they are in person or virtual…that continue to support and bless me.

This truly has been the worst year of my life. It would be easy to be overwhelmed with grief and depression, but instead, all of you bring me so much joy. It doesn’t take away the loss, worry, illness or anger I’ve had to endure these past 10 months, but surpasses it with your love and friendship.

Thank you…from the bottom of my heart.

Leave a Reply

